About UsFind a LawyerBecome a MemberSearch SiteContact
Join our Newsletter 
Login as Member 


About Us

The Malta Chamber of Advocates represents the corps of advocates admitted to the Bar of Malta. It is a voluntary non-political non-Governmental organisation funded by the fees payable by members and by funds raised from the activities it organises. It is recognised at law as the consultative and participatory representative of advocates in matters related to the organisation and administration of justice.

The Chamber acts as a professional association, a lobbyist, an educator and, to a degree, as a regulator, as well as being available to provide guidance to advocates and to the public at large on matters of professional ethics and the proper exercise of the function and office of advocate.

The Chamber seeks to organise lectures, seminars,  and conferences to up-date the profession on matters both of substantive and of procedural law, as well as participating, either as a lobbyist or as a direct participant, in initiatives to amend and consolidate legislation.


According to the Statute approved in 2017, the Council is made up of ten members who are elected for 3 years. Three other members can be co-opted.

The Council for 2017-2020 is currently constituted as follows:

  • President: Dr George Hyzler
  • Vice President: Dr Vincent Galea
  • Secretary General: Dr Stefan Camilleri
  • Financial Officer: Dr Louis Bianchi
  • External Relations Officer: Dr Louis de Gabriele
  • Education Officer: Dr Robert Thake
  • Ethics Officer: Dr Mario V. Spiteri
  • Members: Dr Karl Briffa, Dr Leslie Cuschieri,  Dr Jesmond Manicaro, Dr Anna Mifsud Bonnici, Dr Steve Tonna Lowell  
Ethics Committee:
Dr George Hyzler
Dr Stefan Camilleri
Dr Mario V. Spiteri
Dr Antoine Cremona
Dr Reuben Balzan
Audit Committee:
Dr George Hyzler
Dr Stefan Camilleri
Dr Louis de Gabriele
Dr Jesmond Manicaro
Dr Steve Tonna Lowell


The Chamber of Advocates, Superior Courts, The Law Courts, Republic Street, Valletta VLT2000 MALTA
Telephone: +356 21248601
Fax: +356 21223904
E-mail: info@avukati.org
© Chamber of Advocates Malta 2007 | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | Sitemap